Use of physical punishment in training – why it works and the harm it can do (part 1)

“I think arguing against the effectiveness of forceful training is futile. What we should be doing is educating about the fallout or effect it has on our relationship with our dogs.”

Absolutely true. We dedicate ourselves to a “method” because we want the best for our animals. But we should continue to move forward to find the BEST way forward, rather than just “whatever works.”

Glasgow Dog Training By Dog Behaviourist John McGuigan

Before I start this post, I want to preface it by saying I am now a 100% non aversive trainer and have been for some years now. I can’t remember the last time I shouted at a dog other than my own (which was a long time before I knew any better) and don’t even say “No” any more, rather I may repeat the cue to give the dog another opportunity to respond.

If any of you have read my first post, you will know that I came from a background of traditional dog training. I took my young Dogue de Bordeaux to a sports dog club, where the use of choke chains and prong collars was common place and shock collars were sometimes seen.

The reason I used metal collars was because

1. I wasn’t shown anything different and

2. I was getting results.

My dog Bosco was a…

View original post 661 more words

Leave a Reply

